Chittering Council Elects Their Shire President

Published on Wednesday, 23 October 2019 at 11:12:46 AM

Cr Don Gibson was elected as the new Shire President for a two year term at the Special Meeting of Council held on 22 October 2019.   

Cr John Davis was elected as Deputy Shire President, also for a two year term.

The Shire of Chittering welcomed three new councillors and one re-elected councillor at a Swearing in Ceremony that was held prior to the Special Meeting of Council.  Newly elected Councillors are John Curtis, Kylie Hughes and John Davis; and the returning Councillor is Mary Angus. 

Matthew Gilfellon, Chief Executive Officer congratulates the candidates on their successful election, and also expresses sincere thanks to former councillors Gordon Houston, George Tilbury and Aaron King for all their hard work and dedication to the Chittering community over the past four years.  Significant thanks to our former Shire President, Gordon Houston, for his service and loyalty to the Shire during his term as President.  The Shire also thanks former Deputy President, Cr Peter Osborn for his service and commitment.

Thank you to the members of the Chittering community who took the time to vote in this year’s election.  Your contribution will help shape the future of the Chittering Shire”, said Mr Gilfellon.

Back to All News