Permits to Burn

Permits to burn are only available during the Restricted Burning Times.

Be aware that you must be able to fulfill the following conditions before a permit will be issued to you:

  • Provide sufficient running water and/or a fire fighting unit to the area that is to be burnt
  • Ensure there are adequate fire breaks surrounding the pile or area to be burnt
  • Provide enough people to attend the fire (usually a minimum of three) from lighting the fire until it is totally extinguished and cold.
  • Notify your neighbours/adjoining landowners prior to lighting the fire
  • Notify the Shire of Chittering prior to lighting the fire, during business hours
  • Notify the Department of Fire & Emergency Services prior to lighting the fire (same day)
  • Notify the Department of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions (Parks & Wildlife) if your property is within 3km of their land, prior to lighting the fire
  • Burning is not permitted on Sundays and public holidays

Fire Control Officers are not obliged to issue permits and they may advise on alternatives to burning. Please remember Fire Control Officers are volunteers and their availability to issue permits may vary, assist them by planning in advance. Permits cannot be issued over the phone and should a Fire Control Officer refuse to issue a permit, it is a breach of the Bush Fires Act 1954 to request a permit from another Fire Control Officer.

Bush Fire Control Officers

Locality Name Contact Number(s)
Muchea Shelly Pannell 0417 982 159
Shane Robertson 0400 998 588
Lower Chittering Max Brown 0427 089 677
Johan Rossouw 0439 162 000
Upper Chittering Aaron Cover 0410 594 221
Gordon Carter 0429 784 831
Bindoon Nic Walter 0436 857 529
Peter Watterston 0413 249 371
Wannamal Kim Haeusler 0428 559 043
Clayton Smith 0427 090 548


Position Name Contact Numbers
Deputy Chief - South David Wilson 0412 716 577
Deputy Chief - Central Phill Humphry  0427 761 050
Deputy Chief - North Kim Haeusler 0428 559 043
Shire of Chittering Rangers & Bush Fire Risk Officer 9576 4600
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer David Carroll 9576 4600