Australia Day Awards 2018

Published: Monday, 29 January 2018 at 12:00:00 AM

By Nadine Hayes

Monday 29 Jan 2018

Chittering’s Australia Day Awards Ceremony was held on Friday 26 January, in Bindoon’s Clune Park with approximately 120 people in attendance.  Guests were entertained by the talented local musicians of BEAT and enjoyed free coffee from Bindoon Bakehaus, ice cream from Phil’s Soft Serve Van, cold drinks and a sausage sizzle cooked by the Shire Councillors.

These annual Awards offer the perfect opportunity to publicly recognise, and thank, those members of the community who voluntarily invest so much of their time into their community.

Shire of Chittering Education Scholarship Awards

Each year the Shire incorporates into their budget two scholarships of $1,000 each for a student graduating Year 6 and a student graduating Year 10 at the end of the following school year.  This year’s scholarship winners were: 

Finn Wrathall-Doust (Year 6):  will be using his scholarship towards his school fees and camps.

John-Paul Botha (Year 10):  will use his scholarship towards his school fees, uniform, and a MacBook or iPad.

School Citizenship Awards

Our local schools are invited to nominate a student for outstanding citizenship during the recent school year.    

This year’s award recipient was Margarette Ramirez:  Immaculate Heart College recognised Margarette’s dedication to her studies and cheerful nature in the classroom making her a shining example for other students. 

Active Citizenship Award

This award recognises groups that have made a noteworthy contribution or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years through active involvement.The winners, Bindoon Retirees, were nominated for demonstrating citizenship and enhancement of community life by extending the hand of friendship and acceptance to socially isolated, everyday people in the Chittering community over the past 20 years.

Young Community Citizen of the Year

The winner, Finn Wrathall-Doust, volunteers his time to a range of community causes including Chittering Youth Krew, Beats in the Park, Wear Ya Wellies, and Taste of Chittering. Actively helping his neighbours and grandparents, Finn is very engaging, courteous, and goes above and beyond for anyone in need. He is a strong advocate for the Chittering community and is a positive role model for other youth.

The other nominees were;

  • Harrison Anderson: Nominated for his dedication and commitment to the school garden which has been infectious and encourages other students to get involved.
  • Hope Kavanagh: Nominated for showing strong leadership skills within her school community and assisting younger students when in need.

Senior Community Citizen of the Year

The winner, Dave Lucas, was recognised for his devotion to the Chittering Veteran Car Club and Bindoon Museum. Without Dave’s commitment, many artefacts reflecting the community’s history would be lost or destroyed. His efforts have enabled future generations to understand the history and development of our Shire and surrounding districts.

Community Citizen of the Year Award

The winner, Mark Kay, was nominated for his dedication to several community clubs and committees, especially for fulfilling the duty of Grounds Manager for the 2017 Bindoon Agricultural Show. Mark is considered someone of integrity and true grit, who is a “go-to man” if a club or local needs something done. He has proven to be an exceptional leader in his capacity among the community organisations he is involved in, leading with a strong sense of community pride, sense of social justice and is highly respected by his peers.

The other nominees were;

  • Tuarn Brown:  Nominated for selflessly offering his technical skills and expertise to numerous community events.
  • Nahrel Dallywater:  Nominated for her involvement in numerous committees and groups that enable accessible and inclusive events and opportunities for the community.
  • Lisa Kay:  Nominated for establishing the Chittering Health Advisory Group in response to community concerns.
  • Storn Petterson: Nominated for his Mobile Recovery Campaign that helps those battling alcoholism, drug addiction, anxiety and depression.
  • Adam Taylor: Nominated for freely donating his personal time and business resources to support numerous community events.

Remember, events and local community members can be nominated for Active Citizenship Awards all year round – there’s no need to wait until the Shire call’s for nominations in September.  Forms and more details are available at

- Ends -

For further information please contact Nadine Hayes, Relief Executive Support Officer on 9576 4600 or via  This media statement has no regulatory value.

Back to All Items