Community Citizen of the Year Awards 

Each year on Australia Day, the Shire of Chittering hosts a community celebration at which Community Citizen of the Year Awards are presented. The Awards reward and recognise local individuals and organisations making a notable contribution during the previous year, and/or to those who have given outstanding service over a number of years.

Outstanding contribution and community service include areas such as education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

 It is an opportunity to give them the recognition they deserve.

The Shire of Chittering is encouraging residents to acknowledge their local heroes by nominating them for the 2022 Community Citizen of the Year Awards.

This year’s theme is ‘We’re all part of the story’, and the awards will recognise individuals and organisations that have made a standout contribution to their local community.

The Awards will be presented as part of the 2022 Australia Day event to be held on Wednesday 26 January 2022.

Click here to view the Honour Roll of past Community Citizen of the Year Recipients 

Nomination Guidelines

Community Citizen of the Year Awards are presented across four categories:

  • Citizen of the Year

A person you believe has delivered outstanding service to his or her community

  • Citizen of the Year – Youth

A young person you believe has delivered outstanding service to his or her community and to be eligible, the person must be under 25 years of age on 26 January 2022.

  • Citizen of the Year – Senior

An older person you believe has delivered outstanding service to his or her community and to be eligible, the person must be over 65 years of age on 26 January 2022.

  • Award for Active Citizenship

A group doing outstanding work or for an event staged in the community during the past year.

Nominations for the 2022 Community Citizen of the Year Awards open on 1 September 2021 and close on 31 October 2021. Any nominations received after the closing date will be ineligible for this year’s awards.

For further information and to complete a nomination please visit the Citizenship Awards Website

Selection Criteria

In choosing the recipients of the Community Citizen of the Year Awards, Council give regard to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the community.  A nominee need only be nominated once to be considered.  The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.

Recipients will be judged on:

  • Significant contribution to the local community.
  • Demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life.
  • A significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life.
  • Inspiring qualities as a role model for the community.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees should reside principally within the Chittering Shire.
  • Awards may be granted posthumously in recognition of recent achievements.
  • Groups of people or couples will not normally be eligible except when meeting the criteria/or a community group.
  • A person may receive an award on more than one occasion in recognition of their particularly outstanding community contribution or involvement in an alternative initiative.
  • Unsuccessful nominees may be nominated in future years.
  • Nominations must be apolitical in their nature and should not in any way bring the awards program or local government area into disrepute.
  • Sitting members of State, Federal and Local Government are not eligible.

Australia Day WA encourages all nominators to recognise and acknowledge those in their community displaying ideals of social justice, cultural diversity and social inclusion. We also want to highlight the importance that the reconciliation process plays in enabling people to feel valued and contribute more positively towards society.

If you have any questions with regard to the nomination process please do not hesitate to contact Natasha Mossman, Executive Support Officer at the Shire.