

# Chittering Bush Fire Advisory Committee Meeting Agenda Tuesday, 11 March 2025

To be held at Council Chambers, 6177 Great Northern Highway, Bindoon Commencing at 7:00PM

#### MEMBERSHIP

Members	Deputies
Shire of Chittering Councillor	Shire of Chittering Councillor
Cr Carmel Ross	Cr David Dewar
Chief Executive Officer	Nil
Melinda Prinsloo	
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Nil
Graham Furlong	
Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Nil
Northern Region	
Kim Haeusler	
Bindoon Brigade representative	Bindoon Brigade representative
Neil Harvey	Dennis Badcock
Lower Chittering Brigade representative	Lower Chittering Brigade representative
Donald Jamieson	Graham Furlong
Muchea Brigade representative	Muchea Brigade representative
Shelly Pannell	James Marotta
Upper Chittering Brigade representative	Upper Chittering Brigade representative
Aaron Cover	Will Lee
Wannamal Brigade representative	Wannamal Brigade representative
Clayton Smith	Daniel Smith
Chittering Incident Support Brigade representative	Chittering Incident Support Brigade representative
Paul Groves	Ian Wright

#### Objectives

To make recommendations and advise Council on all matters relating to the Bush Fires Act 1954, Section 67(1). To liaise with other emergency organisations and relevant bodies with regard to Fire and Emergency Management within the Shire of Chittering. The Committee will advise the local government all matters relating to:

- (a) Preventing, controlling and extinguishing of bush fires
- (b) The planning of the layout of fire-breaks in the district
- (c) Prosecutions for breaches of the Bush Fire Act 1954
- (d) The formation of bush fire brigades and the grouping thereof under group brigade officers
- (e) The ensuring of co-operation and co-ordination of bush fire brigades in their efforts and activities
- (f) Any other matter relating to bush fire control whether of the same kind, as, or a different kind from, those specified.

#### **Tenure of Membership**

Shall be in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1995, Section 5.11*.

#### Attendance by Government Agencies

The following are invited (non-voting) to attend meetings of the CBFAC:

- (a) DFES District Officer North East Metropolitan
- (b) Department of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions / Parks and Wildlife Service

#### **Delegated Authority**

Nil

## TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.	DECLARATION OF OPENING OF MEETING ANNOUNCEMENTS OF VISITORS			
2.	RECC	CORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE		
2.1		Attendance	4	
2.2		Apologies	4	
2	.3	Approved leave of absence	4	
3.	DISC	LOSURE OF INTEREST	5	
4.	4. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES			
4	.1	Chittering Bushfire Advisory Committee meeting: 29 October 2024	5	
5. REPORTS			5	
5.1 Community Emergency Services Manager / Chief I				
5.2 D		Community Emergency Services Manager / Chief Bushfire Control Officer	5	
5		Community Emergency Services Manager / Chief Bushfire Control Officer DFES District Officer – North East Metropolitan		
			5	
5	.2	DFES District Officer – North East Metropolitan	5 5	
5	.2 .3 .4	DFES District Officer – North East Metropolitan Chief Executive Officer	5 5 5	
5	2 3 4 GENI	DFES District Officer – North East Metropolitan Chief Executive Officer Department of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions / Parks and Wildlife Service	5 5 5 6	



Notice is hereby given that a meeting of the Chittering Bushfire Advisory Committee will be held on Tuesday, 11 March 2025 in the Council Chambers, 6177 Great Northern Highway, Bindoon commencing at 7.00pm.

Melinda Prinsloo Chief Executive Officer

## 1. DECLARATION OF OPENING OF MEETING ANNOUNCEMENTS OF VISITORS

The Chairperson to declare the meeting open.

Good evening ladies and gentlemen, we wish to acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land within the Shire of Chittering, the Yued and Whadjuk peoples. We would like to pay respect to the Elders of the Nyoongar nation, past and present, who have walked and cared for the land, we acknowledge and respect their continuing culture, and the contributions made to this region.

## 2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

## 2.1 Attendance

The following members have confirmed their attendance (Quorum – 6 Members):

Members:	Cr Carmel Ross Melinda Prinsloo Nathan Manning Aaron Cover Shelly Pannell James Marotta Daniel Smith	Council Delegate (Chairperson) Chief Executive Officer Community Emergency Services Manager & Chief Bushfire Control Officer Upper Chittering Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade Muchea Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade Muchea Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade Wannamal Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
Minute Secretary:	Jodie Connell	
Observers:	Murray McBride Gerry Starr	Department of Fire and Emergency Services Bushfire Volunteer Association

2.2 Apologies

#### 2.3 Approved leave of absence

Nil



## 3. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

Members must declare to the Chairperson any potential conflict of interest they have in a matter before the Shire Council as soon as they become aware of it.

## 4. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

## 4.1 Chittering Bushfire Advisory Committee meeting: 29 October 2024

#### 4.1 OFFICER RECOMMENDATION

That the minutes of the Chittering Bushfire Advisory Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 29 October 2024 be confirmed as a true and accurate record of proceedings.

## 5. **REPORTS**

## 5.1 Community Emergency Services Manager / Chief Bushfire Control Officer

Nathan Manning to address the meeting.

## 5.2 DFES District Officer – North East Metropolitan

Murray McBride to address the meeting.

#### 5.3 Chief Executive Officer

Melinda Prinsloo to address the meeting.

## 5.4 Department of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions / Parks and Wildlife Service

A representative of the Parks and Wildlife Service to address the meeting.



## 6. GENERAL BUSINESS

## 7. NEXT MEETING

That the next meeting of the Chittering Bush Fire Advisory Committee is scheduled for Tuesday, 8 July 2025 commencing at 7pm.

## 8. CLOSURE

The Chairperson to declare the meeting closed.