Text size:


2017 LG Election Results

Media Releases

Chittering Shire’s Council Elections were held on Saturday 21 October, with the final result being:

Carmel Ross            618 votes
Peter Osborn           602
Donald Gibson        564

Michelle Rossouw     550
Quentin Hearn           533
Barni Norton              449
John Curtis                272

The three successful candidates (Carmel Ross, Peter Osborn and Don Gibson) made their Declaration of Office at the Special Council Meeting held on Wednesday 25 October.  At this same meeting the Councillors elected their President and a Deputy President.

Congratulations to Cr Gordon Houston who will be representing the Shire of Chittering as Shire President until October 2019.  Cr Gordon Houston will be ably assisted by his Deputy, Cr Peter Osborn, and supported by fellow Councillors and the Shire staff.

The CEO, Alan Sheridan, expressed his thanks to the seven candidates and the Chittering community for their participation in this year’s election.  The results from the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) show the participation rate for the Chittering elections at 34.46%, and according to the WAEC the overall State participation rate was 34.5%.  This participation rate for Chittering was down from the 2015 elections where we had a turnout rate of 41.65%.

It is appropriate we acknowledge former Councillor, Michelle Rossouw for her commitment and substantial contribution to Council during her time as Deputy President and Councillor having been first elected in 2011.

For further information about how to contact your Councillors please visit the Shire’s website, www.chittering.wa.gov.au, click “Council” and “Councillors”.

- Ends -

For further information please contact Natasha Mossman, Executive Support Officer on 9576 4600 or via chatter@chittering.wa.gov.au.  This media statement has no regulatory value.

Category: Media Releases