Text size:



Media Releases


Cr Gordon Houston has been elected as Chittering Shire President until October 2017 at a Special Meeting held on 19 July 2016.  Cr Peter Osborn was elected as Deputy Shire President.

The new President and Deputy President were sworn in by the Honourable Martin Aldridge MLC, Member of the Western Australian Legislative Council for the Agricultural Region.

“This election was called as a result of the sad loss of our much admired and respected Shire President Steve Vallance, who passed away on 29 June 2016.” said Chief Executive Officer, Alan Sheridan.  He went on to advise that “Council will be considering a report regarding the election of a Councillor to fill the current vacancy at its Ordinary Council Meeting tonight.”

The newly elected Shire President, Cr Houston said “I am committed to carrying on the great work of our former President in uniting the Council, providing the infrastructure which our growing Shire requires and in delivering cost effective services for our community.  I take this opportunity to thank the Councillors for their support and look forward to serving the community with the utmost dedication and commitment.”

- Ends -

For further information please contact Alan Sheridan, Chief Executive Officer, on 9576 4600 or via chatter@chittering.wa.gov.au.  This media statement has no regulatory value. 

Category: Media Releases