Text size:


Fire Management Team 2016-17

Public Notices

Bush Fires Act 1954, Section 38

The Shire of Chittering is committed to providing an effective and efficient fire-fighting service to the residents living in the shire.  It is hereby advised that the following officers have been appointed for the Shire of Chittering:

Chief Bush Fire Control Officer
Jamie O’Neill, Community Emergency Services Manager

Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer – Southern Region
Ian Hollick

Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer – Central Region
Phillip Humphry

Deputy Chief Bushfire Control Officer – Northern Region
Greg Cocking

Bushfire Control Officers
Steve Browne, Lower Chittering VBFB
Max Brown, Lower Chittering VBFB
Peter Hall, Muchea VBFB
Arthur Blewitt, Muchea VBFB
Matthew Whelan, Bindoon VBFB
Dennis Badcock, Bindoon VBFB
Kim Haeusler, Wannamal VBFB
Greg Cocking, Wannamal VBFB
Gordon Carter, Upper Chittering VBFB
David Wilson, Upper Chittering VBFB

Matthew Johns, Ranger - Shire of Chittering
Mark Smith, Ranger - Shire of Chittering
Janice Billen, Compliance Officer - Shire of Chittering

Bushfire Control Officers are not obliged to issue permits and they may advise on alternatives to burning.  Please remember Bushfire Control Officers are volunteers and their availability to issue permits may vary; assist them by planning in advance.  Permits cannot be issued over the telephone and should a Bushfire Control Officer refuse to issue a permit, it is a breach of the Bush fires Act 1954 to request a permit from another Bushfire Control Officer.


Alan Sheridan
Chief Executive Officer

Category: Public Notices