Text size:


Chittering Bush Fire Advisory Committee


Our vision is for the Shire of Chittering to have an efficient and responsive fire service as a committee to educate and inform the community of the dangers of fire.


To make recommendations and advise Council on all matters relating to the Bush Fires Act 1954, section 67(1).

To liaise with other emergency organisations and relevant bodies with regard to Fire and Emergency Management within the Shire of Chittering.

The Committee will advise the local government all matters relating to:

  • preventing, controlling and extinguishing of bush fires
  • the planning of the layout of fire breaks in the district
  • prosecutions for breaches of the Bush Fires Act 1954
  • the formation of bush fire brigades and the grouping thereof under group brigade officers
  • the ensuring of cooperation and coordination of bush fire brigades in their efforts and activities
  • any other matter relating to bush fire control whether of the same kind, as, or a different kind from, those specified.


Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (Southern Region) - Ian Hollick
Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (Northern Region) - Greg Cocking Nil
Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (Central Region) - Phil Humphrey Nil
Muchea Brigade - Peter Hall Arthur Blewitt
Lower Chittering Brigade - Steve Browne Max Brown
Upper Chittering Brigade - Gordon Carter Nil
Bindoon Brigade - Fred Hoogland Dennis Badcock
Wannamal Brigade - Kim Haeusler Nil
Incident Support Brigade - Janice Billen Nil
Cr Michelle Rossouw Cr George Tilbury
Chief Executive Officer Nil
Community Emergency Services Manager/Chief Bush Fire Control Officer   Compliance Officer



The agendas and minutes of the Chittering Bushfire Advisory Committee can be found here on the Shire's website.