Text size:


Wheatbelt Shires form regional alliance

Shire councils of Gingin, Dandaragan and Chittering all unanimously agreed to establish a Regional Alliance at their respective Council meetings in December.  Recent Wheatbelt Development Commission planning identified several issues common to all three Shires which has prompted the formation of a working partnership between the three local governments.

The Shires of Gingin, Dandaragan and Chittering are all facing the knock-on effects from Perth’s rapidly expanding northern corridor, which includes the issue of funding the services and infrastructure needed for the growing region such as health care, education, transport, aged care and waste management.

Of these, the provision of health and aged care services has been identified by the three councils as a common priority.  In addition, the Regional Alliance will focus on industry development and growth, and will work with the Wheatbelt Development Commission to progress those identified priorities for the region.

It is the agreed position of our Shires that a united approach to addressing our common issues will lead to better outcomes,” said Gingin Shire CEO, Jeremy Edwards. “In essence this partnership is about building a strong regional local government focus with an emphasis on advocating strategic projects and services for our region.

Dandaragan Shire CEO Tony Nottle said the Regional Alliance will also work closely with the Wheatbelt Development Commission to identify other key issues and projects that will assist with addressing the growth pressures as well as funding and service gaps. “The Shire of Dandaragan is looking forward to working with the Shires of Chittering and Gingin in an effort to attract funding and services to our growing region,” he said.

Shire of Chittering CEO Gary Tuffin added: “In recent times there has been a stronger focus on taking a regional approach to funding by both the state and federal government, and for better cooperation/collaboration amongst local government. It is envisaged the Regional Alliance may act as an appropriate vehicle to address these mandates.

The Regional Alliance will consist of the three Shire Chief Executives who will meet monthly, with representation by Shire Presidents and the Wheatbelt Development Commission on a quarterly or as-needed basis.