Winners of the 2015 Australia Day Awards Announced

The Shire of Chittering held the Australia Day Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, 22 January 2015 in the Bindoon Town Hall with approximately 80 people in attendance.  This annual ceremony recognises those members of the Chittering community who voluntarily invest so much of their time into the community and the opportunity to thank them for their efforts.

This year we also had the opportunity share the excitement of an Australian Citizenship Ceremony, welcoming our newest Australian to the Shire, Jessica Jones.  Shane Love MP, was kind enough to present the formalities of the ceremony.

Special acknowledgement was given, on several occasions during the evening, to the local volunteer firefighters, who have been very busy over past weeks assisting with incidents in neighbouring Shires – Toodyay, Swan and Gingin.

The first presentation for the evening was the Education Scholarship Award.  This is a monetary grant that the Shire awards to local students for their academic achievement and the contribution that they have made to their school and the community.  The young people are asked to complete the submissions which are reviewed by a local committee.

Madeline Cram – Years 6/7  Madeline lives in Mooliabeenee and after being a student at Bindoon Primary School will be attending Ellenbrook Christian College to continue her education.  Holly will be using her grant to fund music lessons at Swan Christian College.  Madeline will use her scholarship for assistance with her book list, school uniform and school fees.  Madeline would like to be a high school sports teacher when she graduates.

Ellise Donaldson – Years 6/7  Ellise lives in Bindoon and after being a student at Bindoon Primary School will be attending La Salle College to continue her education.  Ellise will use her scholarship for assistance with school books, school uniform and music lessons.  Ellise would like to be a marine biologist when she graduates.

Kate Passmore – Year 10  Kate lives in Mooliabeenee and after attending Gingin District High School will be continuing her education at Holy Cross (Ellenbrook).  In 2013 Kate received overall excellence in all subjects and received an award for English and will use her scholarship for school fees, materials and excursions.

Cr Sandra Clarke presented the three winners with their awards.

The School Citizenship Awards are presented to students who attend our local schools and they are nominated by their school. 

Immaculate Heart College – Lachlan Dobra  Lachlan lives in Gingin and was nominated for demonstrating his citizenship qualities throughout the school year.  Lachlan has shown exceptional virtues and qualities in his every day demeanour and practice. 

Bindoon Primary School – Rachel Glass  Rachel lives in Bindoon and was nominated for her consideration, helpfulness and reliability to the Bindoon Primary School community.  Rachel displays a high level of competency and confidence in everything that she does; and she is always willing to take on extra responsibilities. 

Cr Clarke presented Rachel, and Lachlan’s grandmother Maureen with the awards.

The Community Service Awards are awarded to thank recipients for their service to their community.  Cr Michelle Rossouw and Cr Alex Douglas presented awards to the following recipients:

Martin and Sarah Lee– for their dedication to the Lower Chittering Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade along with assistance to the Chittering Incident Support Brigade, Chittering Valley Progress Association and the annual Bindoon Agricultural Show.

Chittering Scout Group– for their encouragement of the physical, intellectual, social, emotional and spiritual development of young people.

Tamieka Preston– for her work in creating and producing the “Feast on Northern Valleys Flavours 2015” calendar, a wonderful promotional showcase of our local area.

The Premier's Australia Day Active Citizenship Awards focusses on community contribution and participation rather than personal achievement.  The Awards are judged on active citizenship through:

  • a significant contribution to the Chittering community;
  • demonstrated leadership on a community issue resulting in the enhancement of community life;
  • a significant initiative which has brought about positive change and added value to community life; and,
  • inspiring qualities as a role model for the community.


The following community groups / events were nominated for the Premier’s Australia Day Active Citizenship Award for an Outstanding Contribution by a Community Group / Event:

Chittering Scout Group– for providing a wonderful learning journey for the youth of our community.

Bindoon Agricultural Show– for attracting the largest crowd in the shows history.

Bindoon Fireman’s Ball– for being an innovative new event which was a social and monetary success.

Bindoon Arts and Crafts Centre– for providing a valuable service to the community as a friendly place where like minded people can meet to pursue and share their craft.

The Shire President, Cr Robert Hawes, and Shane Love MP presented the Bindoon Arts and Craft Centre with the 2014 Award which was collected by Sue Sim and Julie Conway.


The following community members were nominated for the Premier’s Australia Day Active Citizenship Award for a person under 25yrs.

Zak Tilbury– nominated by George Tilbury for his community spirit.

Cody Hall– nominated by the Chittering Junior Football Club for his contribution to the community.

The Shire President, Cr Robert Hawes, and Shane Love MP presented Cody Hall with the 2014 Award.


The following community members were nominated for the Premier’s Australia Day Active Citizenship Award for an Outstanding Contribution by a Local Citizen:

John Williams– for being a humble man who puts his hand up for anything.

Alan Barnes– for being one of the founding members of the Bindoon Men’s Shed.

Storn Petterson– for raising awareness of suicide and supporting families and friends who have lost their loved ones through suicide.

Clive Griffiths– for being instrumental in the founding of the Bindoon Historical Society.

Elizabeth Pugsley– for her dedication to the Muchea Netball Club.

Kylie Hughes– for her instrumental role in ensuring that the Muchea Netball Club continued to prosper, and her promotion of netball within the Muchea and Chittering area. 

Colleen Osborn– for being the driving force behind the very successful, multi-faceted 2014 Wildflower Festival.

Lois Jones– for being a very active Bindoon Retirees, CWA and State Retirees member.

Betty Jenner– for her happy and kind volunteer work at the Chittering Visitor Centre.

Connie Walker– for her organisation and dedication to fundraising.

Helen Manning– for her active support of the community and volunteer work over a number of years in a number of groups.

The Shire President, Cr Robert Hawes, and Shane Love MP presented Alan Barnes with the 2014 Award.


Cody Hall and Alan Barnes cut the celebration cake, before all attendees were invited into the Lesser Hall to enjoy supper and some light conversation.  The ambience of the evening was enhanced with Nonie Trainor’s beautiful singing.

Images from the day will be available shortly